Woolwich Township, NJ


    Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/wwtwp/public_html/modules/mod_rokgallery/templates/slideshow/default.php on line 13

Boards and Commissions

Welcome to the Woolwich Boards & Commissions

The Woolwich Township Boards and Commissions are listed on this page. If additional information is available for a specific Board or Commission there will be a clickable link at the bottom of the individual Board or Commission listing.

Please note that the Township of Woolwich is grateful to accept applications from residents to volunteer to positions on boards and commissions as they become available.

To access an Application, please click on the following link:


Citizen Volunteer Application

Note: Applicants will be notified via e-mail when positions are vacant, and again when those vacancies are filled.


Business Development Committee:

 The Business Development Advisory Committee meets every other month, with specific sub-committee meetings held every other month as well.

The purpose of this Board is to advertise the advantages of Woolwich Township, to analize the economic potential and development of Woolwich commercial business and to mobilize and assist in the development of potential resources and economic conditions of the Township.

Nine Member Committee                       Four Year Terms

Member                                                  Term

Sheba Vine                                               1/1/17-12/31/20

Vacant                                                      1/1/14-12/31/17

Sue O'Donnell                                          1/1/15-12/31/18

Juanita Thornton                                     1/1/16-12/31/19

Dan Battisti                                               1/1/16-12-31-19

Vacant                                                       1/1/15-12/31/19

Deborah Margl                                          1/1/17-12/31/20

Vacant                                                        1/1/14-12/31/17

Joseph Carlemere                                    1/1/15-12/31/18

Committeeman Carleton & Committeeman Battisti, Co Township Committee Liaisons


Swedesboro-Woolwich Joint Environmental Commission:


The Environmental Commission meets on the 2nd Thursday of each month at 7:00 p.m.

The Environmental Commission researches and develops ways in which to promote environmental causes and investigates and remediates environmental concerns.

Woolwich Members

Five Members 3 Year staggered terms    One Alternate 3 Year Term 

Vacant                                                     12/31/16

Carolyn Grasso                                      12/31/17

Ann Dorsett                                            12/31/18

Paula Hasenauer                                   12/31/18

Michael Tunstall                                     12/31/19


Committeeman Schlump, Township Committee Liaison


Joint Land Use Board:

The Woolwich Township Joint Land Use Board is established pursuant to the Municipal Land Use Law and has the power to hear and vote upon land development applications.

The JLUB meets on the first and third Thursday of each month when there is an agenda, at 7:00 p.m.

Member                    Member Type           Term                 Term Length

Mayor Alan Schwager                    Class I              1/1/17-12/31/17                   1 Year

Joseph Maugeri                              Class IV            1/1/15-12/31/18                   4 Years

Dep. Mayor Rizzi                             Class III              1/1/17-12/31/17                 1 Year

Matt Blake, DOCD                            Class II              1/1/17-12/31/17                 1 Year

Robert Rushton                               Class IV             1/1/14-12/31/17                 4 Years

Michael Iskander                             Class IV             1/1/16-12/31/19                 4 Years

John Casella                                    Class IV             1/1/17-12/31/20                 4 Years

John Juliano                                    Class IV             1/1/17-12/31/20                 4 Years

Sue O'Donnell                                  Class IV              1/1/16-12/31/19               4 Years

Dave Glanfield                            Alternate #1             1/1/16-12/31/17              2 Years

Beth sawyer                                Alternate #2             1/1/16-12/31/17              2 Years       

Vacant                                         Alternate #3   

Vacant                                         Alternate #4          

Planner  ~ Tim Kernan of Maser Consulting, P.A. - 609-390-1927

Engineer ~ Stephen Nardelli of Fralinger Engineering, P.A. - 856-451-2990

Solicitor  ~ Mike Aimino of Aimino & Dennen, LLC - 856-686-9100


Contact Person 
Tara Simpkins
(856) 467-2666 ext.3107



Open Space Committee and Agriculture Development Committee:


The purpose of this Committee is to review and establish ways and means to guide the preservation of open space and agricultural lands and to help to retain and enhance the farming industry as whole.

Three Year Appointments

 Alfred DiBella, Chairperson                   1/1/12-15-31-17

Jarret Vine                                             1/1/15-12-31-17

Jason Johnson                                       1/1/16-1/31/18

Mark Hasenauer                                     1/1/16-12/31/18

Leslie Viereck                                         1/1/15-12/31/17

Paul Lott                                                  1/1/16-12/31/18

Vacant                  Alternate #1                  1/1/12-12/31/14
Vacant                  Alternate #2                  1/1/11-12/31/13

Dep. Mayor Rizzi, Township Committee Liaison

Meetings are held at 7:00 PM the Second Wednesday of each month at The Municipal Building (120 Village Green Drive)


Swedesboro/Woolwich Parks and Recreation:

The following persons serve as members of the Parks and Recreation Committee whose purpose is to plan and execute community events.

Annual Appointment

Maureen Nieves

Janet Richardson

Janine Mills

Suzanne Powell

Bernadette Noonan

Councilwoman JoAnna Gahrs-Swedesboro Liaison

Committeeman Frank Rizzi-Woolwich Township Liaison

Jackie Williams

Michele Blair

Dave Glanfield



Natalie Matthias, Park Director

Contact Person 

Natalie Matthias 
Woolwich Park Director
(856) 467-2666 ext.3300

Activity Information: 
(856) 467-2666 ext.3300

Meetings are held at 7:00 PM the First Tuesday of each month at the Woolwich Municipal Building. 


Shade Tree Commission-Committeeman Fein Township Committee Liaison

The Shade Tree Commission consists of five members appointed by the Mayor to serve a five year term. The Shade Tree Commission is Established for the purpose of the regulation, planting, care and control of shade and ornamental trees and woody shrubs within the Township of Woolwich and shall exercise full and exclusive control over same.

 Members                                                  Terms

Paul Biester                                              2/1/10-12/31-19

Christina Merola                                     01/01/14-12/31/18

Craig Borrie                                              2/1/13-12/31/17

Vacant                                                      2/1/11-12/31/15

Randy Rossi                                           2/1/10-12/31/16

Nicholas Gattuso Alt. #1                      1-1-13-12-31-17

Alex Stuerer Alt. #2                              1-1-13-12-31-16